Loading Events
  • This event has passed.


Doors 7PM | Performance 8PM

Reserved Seating:

Orchestra $55 | Loge $45 | Lower Balcony $35 | Upper Balcony $25

Table Reservation:

Front Row Table $250
4 Seats Per Table ($62.50 per seat)

Event Info

Vallejo violinist Gabrielle Wunsch and pianist Bobby Mitchell invite you to join them for an intimate recital program celebrating the deep friendship and professional relationships shared by Clara and Robert Schumann, Brahms, and the renowned violinist Joachim. 1853 was an auspicious year for the four musicians, bringing them together in a bond that continued to the end of their lives. Clara and Joachim would give hundreds of performances together in the course of their careers, and that summer she wrote for him her beautiful and charming Three Romances. October of the same year saw the composition of the FAE Sonata, a collaborative work written as a gift for Joachim, incorporating the violin-virtuoso’s motto “frei aber einsam” (free but lonely), its FAE cipher threaded through each of the four movements in the manner of a leitmotif. Schumann’s friend and student Dietrich contributed the first movement, Schumann the second and fourth movements, and Brahms a Scherzo which remains the most famous movement of the sonata.  Other works include Robert Schumann’s haunting first sonata for piano and violin, his elegiac Romances performed on trombone, and Joachim’s tender and impassioned Romance Op.2 No.1.

Gabrielle Wunsch is equally at home on period and modern violins, and has performed extensively in Europe, Asia, and North America to great acclaim. She lives on Ohio Street in Vallejo with her husband, trombonist Bruce Chrisp, who is principal trombone of seven Bay Area orchestras.  He teaches trombone at UC Davis, and plays regularly with the San Francisco Ballet and Opera. Bobby Mitchell lives in Freiburg, Germany, and enjoys a varied and eclectic career as concert pianist and chamber musician.  In November he will return to the Empress, performing the third Bartók piano concerto with the Vallejo Symphony.

Bobby Mitchell Website